About Us

Our Story

The first credit union in Ireland was formed in the late 1950s.

In 1969, Fr William O’Mahoney and twelve others founded Portlaoise Credit Union.

Initially, Portlaoise Credit Union operated from Gowings Shop on Main Street. A few years later, it moved to an office in Odlums Mills and then purchased its own office on the New Road. Today, our main office is now located on James Fintan Lalor Avenue, Portlaoise.

People First Credit Union Limited (“PFCU”) was formed out of the merger of Portlaoise Credit Union and Abbeyleix Credit Union in September 2015. PCFU subsequently merged with Athy Credit Union in January 2017.

People First Credit Union now operates from four branches. We are located in Abbeyleix , Athy, Portlaoise and Stradbally. We have 44 staff members and over 40,000 members.

Our Statement

We stand out from the rest. We are the leaders not the followers when it comes to financial services , as your Credit Union we strive to make you our number one priority.

  • Not for profit organisation
  • Owned by our members
  • Together we make our Credit Union stronger

Meet our Board Members

People First Credit Union is controlled and directed by a voluntary Board of Directors. The Board is elected by the Members of the Credit Union at the Annual General Meeting, which is typically held every December.

The Board is comprised of eleven members of different backgrounds and ages who share an enthusiasm for Credit Union, some skills that are of use to the Board and a willingness to spend a few hours every week to discharge their duties.

The 2022 Board of Directors are as follows:

  • Clive Davis (Chair)
  • Evelyn Dunne (Vice Chair)
  • Mary Carmody
  • Billy Fitzpatrick
  • Julian Nagi
  • John Whelan
  • JJ Carey
  • Micheál Scully
  • Mary Crowley
  • Ger Loughnane
  • Brigid Lalor

At the Annual General Meeting, the Members also elect an independent Board Oversight Committee whose role is to carry out checks to ensure that the Board is operating properly and that the interests of the members are protected. The current Board Oversight Committee members are :

  • Brendan O’Sullivan
  • Frank Delaney
  • Clodagh Finlay
  • Mary Forrestal 
  • Caroline Devoy 

Membership has many benefits...

Flexible & Convenient Loans

Members can take out flexible loans 5 weeks after joining, and repay at tailor-made schedules. All our loans are fully insured (for free), against disability or death.

Quality Service, No Fees

You can be assured of a professional service from Credit Union at all times. And you do not pay a transaction fee for saving with us, or borrowing money.

Pay by Direct Debit

Arrange a Direct Debit payment from your bank and be sure of regular payments to your Credit Union account. 

Check the monthly cash draw winners.